READING SKILLS

Welcome to my Course Profile!

READING SKILLS DEVELOPMENT

The context of reading development will be examined in this course for grade one students. This course is intended to promote independent reading habits and encourage self-reflection. Students will participate in book discussions and provide feedback. The objective is to create a reading culture and encourage a love of reading.

Student assessments and assignments will be completed using the digital learning management tool ClassDojo to ensure student, teachers and parents are connected on the growth level of every student. This will guide to monitor students’ engagement, interactions, and build classroom culture. Attendance and accountability for in-class students is mandatory.

Spend some time reading the course profile to get a better understanding of the course. It contains information on how this blended learning course will be introduced to grade one students in modules and help them improve their reading abilities.

Course Design

The course shell is constructed and all the modules have been completed. The course is organized into a total of 15 lessons, each of which consists of an introduction, assessment strategies, and a range of interesting readings that cover the material in the class. It is flexible enough to allow teachers to deliver it either as an entire course or in modules considering it was developed in a blended learning context.
For watching and sharing videos on YouTube, students will need access to a device with a camera and a strong internet connection.

View link to ADDIE TEMPLATE

4 thoughts on “READING SKILLS

  1. Laura Erickson

    Hi Margarita. As a former Grade One teacher I am very interested in your course profile idea. I loved teaching reading and am curious to see how technology can be used in teaching reading. Love the idea of teaching Grade One students self-reflection. I do this with adult students and some find the task difficult. I always think it would be great to teach the skill to young students as it can be hard for adults to suddenly do. What a great idea!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Margarita Efienemokwu Post author

      Hi Laura! Thank you so much for your enthusiastic response. It’s wonderful to hear that you loved teaching reading and are open to exploring how technology can enhance the learning experience. Teaching Grade One students self-reflection is indeed a valuable skill that can benefit them greatly in the long run. It’s interesting to hear that some adults find it challenging, which emphasizes the importance of introducing it at a young age. I’m thrilled that you find this idea great, and I’m confident that incorporating self-reflection into the curriculum will greatly benefit the students. Let’s continue to explore and innovate together!

      Like

      Reply
  2. mcwenc

    Hello Margarita! I am always interested to see how technology can be used with such young learners, and I think it is a great opportunity as they are always so eager to learn and explore! I was intrigued by your use of ClassDojo as a portfolio and announcement tool. I have never considered this application before. In your ADDIE template, I see that you have included the use of the Storybird app — one of my favourites!

    I look forward to seeing how your course unfolds!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Margarita Efienemokwu Post author

      Hi Dear! Thank you for your enthusiastic response. I completely agree that young learners are incredibly eager to learn and explore, which makes using technology with them such an exciting opportunity. I’m glad to hear that you were intrigued by my use of ClassDojo as a portfolio and announcement tool. It has been a great way to keep parents involved and students engaged in their learning journey.

      I’m also thrilled to hear that you are a fan of the Storybird app! It’s such a fantastic tool for fostering creativity and storytelling skills in young learners. I’m excited to incorporate it into my course.
      Thank you! and I’ll be sure to keep you updated on my course shell. I’m looking forward to sharing on your progress as well! All the best!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment